top of page
  • Sakhi Semant Harish

20 Questions with WS Janhavi | बातचीत

It's time for another Q&A | बातचीत segment, where we feature one of our awesome Write Sisters. Today's guest is Janhavi Melinkeri, a Pune-based nomad who got infected with the travel bug in college and never found a cure. She works as an education program manager, which gives her an excuse to roam around the country. She posts her travel stories and snaps on her Instagram page @firtichinaukari, which she launched a year ago.


She's also my good friend, and I can vouch that she's a hilarious storyteller! Her stories are not just about the places she visits, but also about the people she bumps into. And sometimes literally. Besides being a travel-addict, Janhavi is also a trained counselor, an educator, and a die-hard fan of Shahid Kapoor. Don't worry, she doesn't stalk him. Much.


Happy reading!


Little Adam's peak in Ella, Sri Lanka
Little Adam's peak in Ella, Sri Lanka

SH: Tell me a funny or strange travel story of yours.

JM: The strangest incident would be a train journey from Hyderabad to Jaipur. This one gentleman I shared my compartment with was sweet and friendly but also the weirdest human I have ever met. He was a self-proclaimed astrologer, who insisted on reading my birth-chart. Since, it was a long journey and I had nothing else to do I agreed. Till date I don't know how I feel about his reading. His told me 3 things:

a. that I will remain fat (thulthuli was the word he used) my whole life.

b. that I will not have a happy personal life; will either not get married or if married, will definitely go through a divorce.

c. that I will be a successful writer with published books.

In spite of this strange reading, I’d say he and his wife were extremely sweet travel companions who shared with me their home cooked meals and their life story. The gentleman also bought local delicacies from all the famous railway stations enroute our destination.


SH: A successful writer! If you wrote a novel, what would it be about?

JM: It definitely would be based on my travels within the country. I've been fortunate enough to have a job that lets me explore the country, especially the smaller tier 2 cities brimming with rich culture, landscape and food!


SH: I know you are travelling, even now. How are you documenting your trip?

JM: Not as well as I want to. I do try to document each trip some way or the other, but I’d like to be more consistent.



At Mahabalipuram, Tamil Nadu, India - a UNESCO World Heritage Site

SH: What's the worst piece of travel advice you've received?

JM: Thankfully not received any advice that I’d call the worst. None that I remember.


SH: And what's your favourite piece of advice to give?

JM: Skip the mainstream places! Walk around the local areas and visit the smaller local food joints. The best experiences are usually found there!


SH: Favourite travel song?

JM: It depends on my mood and the journey but Dooba Re Dooba from Ishq Vishk has been and will always be on my playlist.

(Janhavi when asked about her mad love for Mr. Kapoor!)


SH: What characteristics make for a cool travel partner?

JM: Spontaneity and minimalism, for sure.


SH: Does that mean less 'strict schedule' and more 'go with the flow'?

JM: A few years ago, I would have said go with the flow but currently I’m leaning toward a mix of both.


SH: What place is top of your bucket list?

JM: The 7 north eastern states of India and Alaska's northern lights.


SH: What about the sea - on it, in it or stay on dry land?

JM: In it. Always in it!


SH: What destination have you found to be overrated?

JM: Oh, undoubtedly the Charminar in Hyderabad. The Mecca Masjid next to it and the local markets are definitely worth a visit, but the Charminar was quite a disappointment.


SH: Beer or wine?

JM: Neither. I'm a Whiskey girl all the way!


SH: Aha! And what's been the best street food that you've had?

JM: I'm always going to be biased towards pani-puri, but I've had some insane street food at the Chappan Dukaan in Indore. Also, the sausage rolls from Greggs in Nottingham used to be a staple.



About the pictures:


About the pictures:


Scenic walk with railtrack to Seven Archway Bridge in Ella, Sri Lanka
On the way to the Seven Archway Bridge in Ella, Sri Lanka

SH: What's the most interesting thing you've learnt on your travels?

JM: We keep hearing about the diversity of India, but to actually experience the change in landscape, dialects, traditions and food is always interesting. Sounds extremely cliched but the diversity of this country never fails to impress me.


SH: And about yourself? What has surprised you about yourself?

JM: For the longest time I believed myself to be a spoilt brat, but there are times I've surprised myself with the adaptability, resilience and patience I've shown, especially during my travels.


SH: What was the most challenging thing you've done?

JM: Okay, this is a tough one. But if I have to answer this question, I'd say the two geographical moves I've done over the years. First one, when I moved to Pondicherry for work and the other one when I went to the UK for education. Both places have given me memories and experiences to last a lifetime and shaped my personality in ways I could never imagine, but the relocations were extremely challenging in the beginning. Pondicherry especially was very difficult because of the language barrier.



SH: What according to you is the best and worst thing about travelling?

JM: For me the best part about traveling is how it throws me out of my comfort zone every now and then. Worst thing would be the lack of hygienic washrooms on highways and public transport.


SH: Things you wish you knew before you went travelling:

JM: To Google the sh*t out of the places you're visiting, especially if they are the smaller towns or villages. Make sure you're aware of the good food joints, cultural expectations, quality of hotels available, local holidays etc. I've had some not so good experiences because I wasn't mentally prepared for what was coming.


SH: Can you tell us about your account @firtichinaukari?

JM: It's just my way of documenting all my travels, I do so without the intention of making viral content. I’m not a ‘travel blogger’, but the page makes me happy 😊


SH: Lastly, what is your top travel tip?

JM: Always carry a *PeeBuddy! Godsend, especially when you're on long road journeys!

*a PeeBuddy is a disposable urination device for women that lets one stand and pee! The one Janhavi is talking about is this. Not sponsored! Just #janhitmeinjaari


 

I hope you enjoyed reading this post! I would love to hear from you, so please leave a comment and share your thoughts. Do you have any travel stories to tell? Any trips you took or missed? Any memories of your adventures? I'm always eager to listen to your stories. Don't be shy and drop me a line (or a paragraph) in the comments below!

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page