top of page
  • Sakhi Semant Harish

A Splendid Morning

So, this happened today. I had placed an order for some groceries last night so that I could get them early in the morning. As expected, I received the notification that my shopper has started buying the items and the order will be delivered in the next 1-2 hours. That sounded good. I got the next update soon enough that the shopping was complete. But right after that was another message that the order will be taking longer than the time estimated earlier.

It was a slight delay so it didn’t bother me much. I got busy with my morning chores. I realised an hour later that the order still hasn’t come. My list wasn’t that long and included really regular, easy to find, everyday items. Also, the store wasn’t really far. It made me wonder “what is it that is taking so long?”. Anyway, I finally got the message that my bags were left in the entryway of my apartment building and like it is always, with the message was a photograph of my order – 3 bags, neatly stacked. What was different was – there, on top of one of the bags, there was a yellow rose.

With my bags I found that there was a Ziploc bag that had wipes, a card with a small note inside and this shopper had taken extra care to pack the milk carton in an insulated bag. (Trust me, that is not common)




Considering what we’ve been through this year, we have plenty to complain about. But it is ever more important to be reminded of the kindness and good going around us. It didn’t matter if this act was random or intentional. I choose to look at how it made me feel; it made my morning extremely happy! It was ..lovely 😊

I wish for all of us to be warmed by such an occurrence from time to time. Something so simple, something that is present in everyday kindness. My eyes kept darting to the single yellow rose the whole day and I wondered to myself why did she go to such lengths to make this absolutely simple task such a special one. Then I read the card again and found an answer.

“May kindness return to you in the same beautiful way it was given.” Perhaps, somewhere in her heart she is hoping that this act of kindness might inspire others to do something, make kindness spread like wildfire?

So today maybe, praise someone for something they’ve done well, bake a cake for your family, let someone know you’re proud of them, call a friend or have a virtual coffee date with someone you haven’t seen in a while. Let us build a kindness cache full of memories we can draw from later and smile.

0 comments

Opmerkingen


bottom of page